International Emmy Awards 2020: ‘Delhi Crime’ wins Best Drama Series Award; Bollywood celebs congratulate team

Image Source - Instagram

Web series ‘Delhi Crime’ starring Shefali Shah, Rasika Duggal, Adil Hussain and Rajesh tailing in prominent roles has bagged the Best Drama Series Award at this year’s International Emmys. So naturally, the entire team of the series is elated.

Directed byย Richie Mehta, ‘Delhi Crime’ was released on Netflix on March 22, 2019, and is based on the 2012 Delhi gang-rape case that took place in South Delhi. The seven-episode series created history as it became the first Indian programme to win an International Emmy.

Adil Hussain sharing the good news on his Twitter handle wrote, “โ€œDelhi Crime #DelhiCrime wins the Emmy @iemmys International Awards for Best Drama. Congratulations @RichieMehta unmatchable @ShefaliShah dearest @rajeshtailang and whole team Big Big Congratulations!โ€


Rasika Dugal, who is also a part of this series exclaimed her happiness by sharing the following post.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Rasika (@rasikadugal)

Several Bollywood celebs took to their social media handles to congratulate the ‘Delhi Crime’ team on their big win. Everyone right from Zoya Akhtar to Vidya Balan expressed their happiness over the series huge achievement. Congratulating the team, Vidya Balan wrote, “Hooray! Congratulations Shefali Shah, Richie Mehta and teamย Delhi Crimeย on the International Emmys for the Best Drama Series. So richly deserved.”

Zoya Akhtar wrote, “India just won its first Emmy. Congratulations Richie Mehta, Kilian Kerwin and Shefali Shah and Thank You Netflix.

Similarly, celebs like Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Vishal Dadlani, Sayani Gupta, Swara Bhasker wished the winning series’ team.

This year apart from ‘Delhi Crime’, ‘Made In Heaven’ actor Arjun Mathur was nominated in the Best Actor category, while ‘Four More Shots Please’ was a nominated in the Best Comedy Series category.

We sent our heartiest congratulations to the ‘Delhi Crime’ team.

Also Read: SWA Awards 2020: โ€˜Article 15โ€™, โ€˜Soniโ€™ and โ€˜Gully Boyโ€™ win big